About TTT-2020

             ABOUT TTT2020

The Taita Taveta County Government has rationalized its CIDP and annual budget to stimulate transformational economic development towards moving a majority of its population into a middle income status with improved levels of living and to lower the percentage of the number of people living below the National average poverty line.

The County has an absolute poverty level of 57.2 per cent. Food insecurity is 50 per cent. Some of the reasons for high poverty levels include historical marginalization, erratic and inadequate rainfall, human-wildlife conflict, poor roads network, challenges of health delivery, and poor educational facilities coupled with low transition rate.

Against this backdrop, TTCG developed a well thought out strategy to change the fortunes of the County. Consistent with Kenya Vision 2030, Transform Taita Taveta by 2020 (TTT2020) is a collective initiative to enable and sustain Taita Taveta County’s socio-economic transformation from the year 2015 – 2020

The aim of Transform Taita Taveta 2020   is to create “a regionally competitive and prosperous County with a high quality of life by 2020”. It aims to Transform Taita Taveta into “a newly-industrializing, middle-income County providing a high quality of life to all its citizens in a clean and secure environment

For the county to move to a double digit economy, an approximate of about USD 500 million is required to be invested in the key enabling sectors. Approximately USD 100 million is available from the county development budget for the period of 2014 – 2020. Therefore, there is a funding gap of approximately USD 400 million. There is need for strong and reliable partners/investors to help bridge the funding gap in order to achieve an integrated and sustainable development environment across the county.



Taita Taveta County can move to a double digit economic growth with USD 500 million invested in the following enabler areas of the county economy:

  1. Water (It is the enabler of all enablers)
  2. Irrigation fed agriculture
  3. Tourism, destination marketing and biodiversity conservation
  4. Mining; including school of mining and gemology centre
  5. Education, research and development
  6. Innovation centre
  7. Livestock industry
  8. Human resource development