The department of Public Works, Transport and Infrastructure will work in collaboration with the County Assembly to ensure the county road network is improved, CECM Gasper Kabaka has said.

Speaking today during a meeting with the County Assembly Transport committee at Voi, Kabaka noted that a lot will be achieved when the two arms of government work together.
“We cannot achieve our goals without the support of the County assembly members. We urge the members to channel more resources towards the improvement of our roads,” he said.
Kabaka told the members that the second phase of road maintenance across all Wards in the County is coming to an end.

“We are yet to do the murraming part of the work because there was a delay in release of funds from Nairobi. However, the works will commence soon,” he stressed.

Kabaka revealed that the department is in the process of adopting the claycrete technology.
“This technology is good because the roads remain intact for a long time. We want to pilot the technology in our town roads,” he said.

The committee members commended the department for the tremendous road improvement works being done across the county.

Committee chair Hon. Abednengo Mwanjala noted that the assembly will play its part in ensuring the best services are offered to Wananchi.
“When we work together, a lot will be achieved. At the end of the day, we serve the same people,” he noted.
Mboghoni MCA Fundi Maskuji observed that there has been a challenge in the execution of Mechanical Transport Fund projects.

“We need to come up with a better way of utilizing our money because as it is now, most MTF projects are not being executed on time. MTF has concentrated more on the National government projects at the expense of county government projects,” he said.

Kabaka was accompanied by Director Albert Mwatiriri, Roads superintendent Lazarus Ighacho, sub-county road engineers Brian Omondi, Abraham Maghanga, Freygod Shwashwa, programmes officer Edward Lenjo, county assembly transport committee members Godwin Kilele, Paul Waweru, Rose Shingira, and Christopher Mwambingu respectively.